Skip to main content

Leadership at Children's Mercy

The Board of Directors and Administration at Children’s Mercy have the honor, and responsibility, of ensuring the children of our community receive the best care possible. They work together — alongside more than 8,000 employees — to fulfill the mission and vision of the organization on a daily basis.


Board of Directors

Paul McLaughlin, chairman

Elizabeth Braham, vice chairman

Bill Krueger, treasurer 

Andrew Teigen, secretary

Kevin Barth

Jean-Paul Chaurand

Vince Clark

Carolyn Davis, MD

Laura Fitzmaurice, MD

Paul Kempinski, FACHE

Terry Matlack

Charles Schellhorn

Debbie Sosland-Edelman

Edna Talboy

Tom Weir


President and CEO

Paul D. Kempinski, MS, FACHE- President and Chief Executive Officer

Executive vice presidents

Jodi Coombs, MBA, BSN, RN - Executive Vice President / Chief Operating Officer

David Cauble - Executive Vice President / CFO

Rob Lane, MD - Executive Vice President / Physician-in-Chief

Rob Steele, MD, MBA – Executive Vice President / Chief Strategy and Innovation Officer

Senior vice presidents

Robin Faulk - Senior VP and Chief Human Resources Officer; Executive Director, The Leadership Institute

Michael Artman, MD - Senior VP / Pediatrician-in-Chief

Tom Curran, PhD, FRS, CSO – Senior VP and Chief Scientific Officer; Executive Director, Children’s Mercy Research Institute

Stacy Doyle, RN, PhD - Senior VP – Ambulatory and Physician Practice Operations

Laurie Ellison – Senior VP and Chief Marketing and Communications Officer

Bob Finuf - Sr. VP, Value and Payor Relations / Executive Director – Integrated Solutions

Robin Foster, JD - Senior VP – Legal Counsel

Cheri Hunt, MHA, BSN, RN, NEA-BC, Senior Vice President for Patient Care Services/Chief Nursing Officer

Carol Kemper, PhD, RN, CPHQ, CPPS - Senior VP-Quality and Safety

Chad Mills – Senior VP - Chief Information Officer

Jenea Oliver - Senior VP and Chief Development Officer

Shawn St. Peter, MD – Senior VP and Chair, Department of Surgery

David Westbrook - Senior VP-Strategy and Innovation

Vice presidents

Kim Brown, CPA - VP- Audit and Compliance

Marshaun Butler, MHSA- VP-CM KS and Regional Medical Practices/Chief Diversity Officer 

John DeWitt - VP-Facilities Management

Scott Gage- VP – Business Development and Contract Management

Beau Gostomsky – VP – Revenue Cycle

Jennifer Kingry, VP – Finance

Genny Nicholas - VP – Government Relations

Nicole Strombom, MBA – VP – Financial Planning

Mary Tomlinson – VP of Research Administration – Children’s Mercy Research Institute