Skip to main content

Meet the Philanthropy Team

Connect with us


The Children’s Mercy Philanthropy team loves connecting with community friends and supporters like you. Contact us today to learn more about how you can get involved and provide critically needed support for our world-class hospital. Our friendly team members will make your experience meaningful.

We’re here for you. Meet the team and find the right person to answer your questions.

Jenea Oliver, PhD

Vice President of Philanthropy

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"There are so many reasons, but it boils down to the fact that our medical team makes kids feel better. How can you not love that? As my children say when they feel really bad, 'Mom, will you take me to Children’s Mercy? They always make me feel better!' That’s love." — Jenea


Philanthropy department leadership

Allison (Ali) Abplanalp

Managing Director of Philanthropic Community Engagement & Events

(816) 302-0015
asabplanalp@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"Our clinicians give every child who needs treatment incredible care and undivided attention."

Shanelle Varone

Senior Administrative Director

(816) 302-0005
sdvarone@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"Every employee who works here wants to do the very best for our patients and their families."

Phil Watson

Managing Director of Philanthropic Gift Planning

(816) 701-4339
pawatson@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"We are united by a singular focus: What can we do to help kids and their families?"

Shannon Stone

Managing Director of Philanthropic Operations

(816) 302-0009
sstone@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"Children’s Mercy saved my son’s life, and I am forever grateful for the care he received here."


Philanthropic leadership giving

Kate Migneron

Director of Philanthropic Giving

(816) 302-0012
kmigneron@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"Because the focus is always on kids."

Andrew Garton

Assistant Director of Philanthropic Giving

(816) 302-0006
asgarton@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"Children's Mercy is a place where the entire community comes together and rallies around the hospital's mission -- it's truly inspiring."

Mark L. Haas

Manager of Philanthropic Giving

(816) 302-0099
mhaas@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"We focus on healing kiddos and families from a position of passion and purpose."

Jennifer Everett MaGee

Manager of Regional Philanthropic Giving

(816) 302-0201
jleverettmagee@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"Because of the mission-focused and big-hearted people who work beside me every day!"


Community engagement and events

Megan Boos

Assistant Director of Philanthropic Community Engagement and Events

(816) 701-4599
msboos@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"I love Children's Mercy because we have the best patients and families!"

Ashley Lopez

Manager of Philanthropic Community Engagement & Auxiliary Operations

(816) 701-4598
arlopez@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"The emphasis we place on helping families throughout the patient experience."

Erica Logan

Manager of Philanthropic Community Engagement and Events

(816) 302-0298 
ealogan3@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"Because every kiddo who walks through our doors has access to the best care possible."


Foundation and corporate giving

Sheila Montgomery, CFRE

Director of Corporate & Foundation Philanthropic Giving

(816) 302-0097
smontgomerypark@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"Our clinicians are among the best in the country."


Gift planning

Bill Riek

Assistant Director of Philanthropic Gift Planning

(816) 701-4084
wgriek@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"Without the hospital, I would not have my daughter to hold in my arms at night. The medical team saved her life!"

Stacey Million

Assistant Director of Gift Planning

(816) 302-0100
samillion@cmh.edu

Why do you love Children’s Mercy?

"Because the focus is on the kids -- helping them get healthy and making future cures a reality."

Krista Hurd

Manager of Leadership Giving

(816) 302-0046
khurd@cmh.edu


Donor relations and recognition

Jasmine Thompson

Manager of Donor Engagement and Recognition Events

(816) 302-0014
jthompson5@cmh.edu


Volunteer and guest services

Nicki Johnson

Director of Volunteer and Guest Services

(816) 802-1197
njohnson2@cmh.edu

Kelly Kommers

Program Manager

(816) 234-3541
klkommers@cmh.edu

Shelly Nicoll