Skip to main content

Clinical Pathways promote evidence based, safe, and high-value care for patients by providing clinical recommendations and standard processes. They are developed by multidisciplinary committees of subject matter experts, informed by methodical review of available evidence and consensus among committee members. 

Clinical Pathway: 

Inclusion criteria: 

  • Ambulatory patient.
  • > 2 months of age.
  • Central venous line in place.
  • Fever > 100.4°F or 38°C. 

Committee members involved in the development: 

  • Emily Goodwin MD, FAAP | General Academic Pediatrics & Beacon Program | Committee chair 
  • Ruba Abdelhadi MD | Gastroenterology | Committee member
  • Tara Benton MD | Medical Director, PICU | Committee member
  • Lacey Bergerhofer MSN, RN-BC | Director, Clinical Practice & Quality | Committee member
  • Sarah Brunner MD | Pediatric Intensivist | Committee member 
  • Shari Cooley MSN, RN | Director, Medical Informatics Training | Committee member 
  • Kayla Curiel DNP, APRN, CPNP-PC | Advanced Practice Manager: Ambulatory | Committee member 
  • Ashley Daly MD | Hospital Medicine | Committee member 
  • Chris Day MD | Infectious Diseases | Committee member 
  • Jennifer Gannon MD | Genetics | Committee member 
  • Joan Giovanni MD | Interim Division Director, Pediatric Emergency Medicine | Committee member 
  • Leslie Glennon BSN, RN, CNN | Dialysis Nurse Manager | Committee member 
  • Lauren Kirkpatrick MD | Hospital Medicine | Committee member 
  • Jamie Lorenc BSN RN, VA-BC| Vascular Access Team Nurse Manager | Committee member 
  • Sarah Monteer RN, BSN | Clinical Safety Program Manager | Committee member 
  • Anna Mueller RN, BSN, CCRC | Nursing Program Coordinator, Rehabilitation Medicine | Committee member 
  • Amy Nau MSN, MBA, RN, CNN, NE-BC| Service Line Director: Nephrology, Dialysis, and Kidney Transplant | Committee member 
  • Jessica Peters M. Ed | Patient & Family Engagement Coordinator | Committee member 
  • Kim Radford RN, APRN | Gastroenterology | Committee member 
  • Nikita Raje MD | Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology | Committee member 
  • William San Pablo MD | Gastroenterology | Committee member 
  • Joel Thomson MD| Director of Quality Improvement & Safety, Division of Hematology/ Oncology/BMT | Committee member 
  • Suzanne Vap MSN, RN, CPN | Manager, Clinical Informatics Practice | Committee member 
  • Bradley Warady MD | Director, Division of Pediatric Nephrology | Committee member 
  • Brandi Weller PharmD | Clinical Pharmacist | Committee member 
  • Todd Glenski MD, MSHA, FASA | Anesthesiology & Evidence Based Practice Medical Co-Director | Committee member 
  • Lisa Schroeder MD | Chief Medical Quality and Safety Officer | Committee member 
  • Jacqueline (Jackie) Bartlett PhD, RN | Director, Evidence Based Practice | Committee member 

Publication dates: 

  • Finalized date: February 2022 
  • Next expected revision date: February 2025

If you have any question regarding this content, or identify a broken link, please email 


This care process model does not establish a standard of care to be followed in every case. It is recognized that each case is different, and those individuals involved in providing health care are expected to use their judgment in determining what is in the best interests of the patient based on the circumstances existing at the time. It is impossible to anticipate all possible situations that may exist and to prepare care process models for each. Accordingly, this care process model should guide care with the understanding that departures from them may be required at times.